The British West Indies includes the islands of the Caribbean Sea that used to be the part of the British Empire. The British West Indies primarily consisted of eight colonies: British Guiana, the Bahamas, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, the Turks and Caicos Islands, Barbados, British Honduras, and the Cayman Islands. They are often grouped into the Windward Islands and the Leeward Islands.

In the middle of the 20th century, the territories of the British West Indies attempted to create a single independent nation, but it had not enough powers and could not solve a huge number of practical problems. Most of the territories separated and became independent countries, having joined a vast number of international organizations.

Many of them are still considered British overseas territories. The major part of the former representatives of the British West Indies belongs to the Commonwealth. Leeward Islands and St. Kitts in particular were the first place to create a federation in the British West Indies in 1674. A General Assembly was set up, and the islands began to make their own laws, but it did not last for a long time. The Windward Islands also used to declare themselves the Windward Islands Colony, but individual islands resisted British attempts at creating a closer union.

Being weak politically, the region is a powerful center of tourist industry. The natural attractions of the British West Indies are the main reason for tourists to come here. Wilderness is what attracts travelers. Ecotourism development is a promising direction, since the islands still preserve unique relict forests, geological monuments, rare plants and animals.

One of the attractions of British Guiana is its unusual capital. Georgetown is located in the territory, which is below sea level by 2.5 meters. A system of canals is used to protect the capital from floods. The city has a number of restaurants, tanning salons, places for recreation, and the remarkable colonial architecture. The world's tallest wooden cathedral is located in Georgetown. The cathedral is very beautiful, its interior and exterior were designed by the best masters. In front of the cathedral, there are several beautiful parks. Guiana is also a good place to visit waterfalls and rivers, where one can get involved in water sports and fishing.

The island of Grand Turk is a treeless top of the seamount. In the middle of the island, there are several salt lakes, which are a reminder of the former role of salt production in the economy of the islands. Surrounded on all sides by coral reefs, the island is convenient enough for water sports and a beach holiday. The underwater world of the local reef is markedly different from the neighboring islands. Here one can also see the sea turtles, whale sharks and the inhabitants of great depths. The island has many dive centers and diving schools. In winter one can watch the seasonal migrations of humpback whales. Cockburn Town is the only major settlement on Grand Turk, built up with colonial buildings and wooden houses in a typical Bermudian style.

Salt Cay lies 15 km southwest of Grand Turk. It is a tiny patch of land area of ​​only 10 square kilometers and a population of 80 residents. It is one of the most interesting islands of Turks and Caicos. Salt Cay is a small open-air museum with windmills, salt sheds and salt lakes. Today, when the salt production lost its meaning, the island became a quiet and patriarchal place.

The historic city of Belfur boasts several old two-storey houses with wide porches and white shutters on the windows. The biggest attractions of the city are the well-preserved White House, a picturesque estate of a rich salt merchant, the Anglican Church of St. John and the old prison. No less interesting is coral reef life at an affordable diving depth.

Contact one of rated British West Indies travel agents to prepare a good and memorable trip. Tour operators in British West Indies can find you a good hotel, transportation and local tour guides.